Car Accident Lawyer in Rochester, NY
In the United States, car accidents involving personal injury occur approximately every 14 seconds and accidents involving death occur every 12 minutes. A large majority of these car or truck accidents are the result of one driver’s negligent, careless or reckless driving. If you are injured as a result of another driver’s failure, you may have a claim.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer Immediately
It is imperative that you speak to a personal injury attorney as soon as possible to preserve evidence that may be useful in pursuit of your claim, and to insure that certain time limitations are met, and that all insurance paperwork is properly prepared and submitted.
If you or someone you love was injured in a car accident, we are here to help. A quick call to our NY car accident attorneys can be helpful in getting your bearings and understanding your rights and options. One of our experienced Rochester area car accident lawyers can provide valuable guidance in the aftermath of the incident.
Car Accident Laws in New York State
New York State is a "no-fault" insurance state. No fault ensures that the persons injured in the accident are covered with medical insurance and also reimbursement for a portion of lost wages and other expenses. The reasoning for this is because if the accident wasn’t your fault, then it doesn’t make sense that your own insurance company would pay your medical bills. The bottom line is to ensure that people who are injured and are in need of treatment can get treatment.
If you were driving a car or a passenger in a car, your car’s insurance is the no-fault carrier. If you were struck by a car the auto insurance for the car who struck you is the no-fault carrier. If you were a passenger on public transportation, then your own car insurance is the no-fault carrier. If neither you or the people in your household have a car then the public transportation system is responsible as the no-fault carrier.
All medical bills must be submitted to the no-fault carrier within 45 days of the treatment. Other expenses incurred as a result of the accident (out of pocket expenses, transportation costs, prescription costs, lost wages or household help) must be submitted within 90 days of being incurred.